Strengthening Constitutional Self-Government

Ashbrook Scholar Program


Course of Study

Books for the Ashbrook Scholar Program

Books for the Ashbrook Scholar Program

Ashbrook Scholars must major or minor in Political Science or History. Scholars take courses and seminars in political theory, American politics, Constitutional law, international relations, and foreign policy, as well as history and literature. In addition to studying the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, during their course of study, they will read the works greats such as Plato, Aristotle, Shakespeare, Locke, Jefferson, Lincoln and Churchill.

Below is a sample of what Ashbrook Scholars will read and study during their four years in the program:

  • Plato, Republic and Apology of Socrates
  • Aristotle, Nicomachean Ethics and Politics
  • Thucydides, The Peloponnesian War
  • Xenophon, The Education of Cyrus
  • Niccolo Machiavelli, The Prince
  • William Shakespeare, Henry V, Julius Caesar, Othello, and King Lear
  • Thomas Hobbes, Leviathan
  • Montesquieu, Spirit of the Laws
  • John Locke, Two Treatises of Government
  • The Declaration of Independence
  • The Constitution of the United States of America
  • Publius, The Federalist
  • James Madison, Notes on the Constitutional Convention of 1787
  • Alexis de Tocqueville, Democracy in America
  • Mark Twain, Huckleberry Finn and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
  • Frederick Douglass, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
  • Abraham Lincoln, Lyceum Speech, Gettysburg Address, and Second Inaugural Address
  • Calvin Coolidge, Foundations of the Republic
  • Winston Churchill, My Early Life and The Gathering Storm