Strengthening Constitutional Self-Government

About Us

John M. Ashbrook Memorial Dinner

John M. Ashbrook Memorial Dinner

The annual Ashbrook Memorial Dinner is the most significant political event in Ohio each year, drawing guests from throughout the state. This annual fund-raiser for the Ashbrook Center was inaugurated by President Ronald Reagan in 1983 at the first Ashbrook Memorial Dinner. Since then, we have been honored with distinguished keynote speakers, including Margaret Thatcher, Benjamin Netanyahu, George H. W. Bush, Henry Kissinger, John Boehner, Clarence Thomas, Mitt Romney, and Barbara Bush, among others.

This event consists of three parts: a private, off-the-record conversation with our undergraduate Ashbrook Scholar students, a reception, and then dinner followed by the keynote speech.

1 2

Past Speakers

Bobby Jindal

On Civic Education
April 12, 2019

Tucker Carlson

Today's Political Landscape
June 3, 2017

Ed Rollins

April 27, 2016

Governor Rick Perry

April 30, 2015

Dr. Benjamin Carson

One Nation: What We Can All Do to Save America's Future
August 21, 2014

Charles Krauthammer

May 3, 2013

Mike Huckabee

June 28, 2012

John Boehner

June 11, 2011

Mitt Romney

The Case for American Greatness
April 30, 2010

Fred Thompson

May 1, 2009

Jeb Bush

May 29, 2008

Glenn Beck

December 1, 2006

Karl Rove

April 21, 2005

William Bennett

The Politics of War and Civil Society
April 23, 2004

Barbara Bush

April 4, 2003

Benjamin Netanyahu

Fighting Terrorism
May 3, 2002

Bill Kristol , Brit Hume , Michael Barone

September 8, 2000

George F. Will

September 10, 1999

Clarence Thomas

February 5, 1999

Henry Kissinger

September 11, 1997
1 2