Strengthening Constitutional Self-Government

The Ashbrook Scholar Program is a rigorous and top-rated academic program for undergraduate students at Ashland University.

Students in the program must pursue a major or minor in Political Science or History. Students study the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, as well as everything from Homer and Aristotle to the Federalist Papers and the speeches and deeds of America’s greatest statesmen.

The Ashbrook Scholar Program has grown dramatically. The number of Ashbrook Scholars admitted has tripled over the past 15 years, with 120 students currently in the program.

Ashbrook Scholars experience a learning environment far removed from a standard college education. Our Scholars:

  • Develop a deep understanding of America’s founding principles,
  • Engage in private conversations with distinguished speakers who visit the Ashbrook Center,
  • Adhere to an unwritten Code of Honor,
  • Participate in internships tailored to their interests,
  • Write, present, and defend a Statesmanship Thesis,
  • Participate in an old-fashioned liberal arts education that prepares them for any career, and
  • Graduate from the program and become leaders in various fields.

Ashbrook alumni are in leadership roles not only within state and national government but also in careers across the country as lawyers, teachers, and business professionals, to name only a few. Here are examples of where our Ashbrook alumni are today.

  • John Abramson ’98, Senior National Client Relationship Manager, Great-West Life and Annuity Insurance Company
  • Rex Elsass ’85, President and CEO, The Strategy Group for Media
  • Heather (Clark) Gebhart ’95, Optometrist
  • Craig Haller ’96, Assistant United States Attorney, Western District of Pennsylvania
  • Jay Hartz ’93, Deputy Chief of Staff, Kentucky Senate President
  • Jeff Kahl ’95, Associate Pastor, Saranac Community Church
  • Luke Loboda ’04, Social Studies Teacher, Upper St. Clair High School, Pennsylvania
  • Casey (Miller) Lucius ’97, Lecturer, U. S. Naval Postgraduate School
  • Mindy McLaughlin ’01, Manager of Foreign Direct Investment, JobsOhio
  • Kevin Portteus ’00, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Hillsdale College
  • Andrea Reagan ’96, Attorney, Battelle Memorial Institute
  • Joseph Robertson ’90, Director, Ross, Sinclaire & Associates, LLC
  • Tom Whatman ’88 , Executive Director, Team Boehner
  • Scott Zody ’88, Assistant Director, Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Previous: Where the Ashbrook Center Will Go in the Future
Next: Strengthening Student Programs